Kiln blog: Prophetic Economics 01

This is mostly prophetic, so it fits in the pulpit, but it uses a real-world approach…

The Social Sciences are the study of human nature. It includes things like history, archeology, geography, sociology, government and political theory, psychology and so forth. But they are based on Western assumptions, so it all rests on the pretense of reasoned analysis and objectivity. While these sciences recognize that human nature is flawed, they assume it could be better and the whole point is to study how to make it better.

In particular, economics pretends to objectivity even as it manifests wildly conflicting forecasts based on the competing theories. People who study economics take their science too seriously, pretending that if they could just fix some basic theoretical disputes and come up with a unified model of human economic behavior, they could solve humanity’s problems.

Obviously I disagree, but it comes after having studied economics for a long time. You see, I studied it from the cynical point of view that comes from rejecting Western assumptions in the first place. My rejection wasn’t wholly conscious at first, but I was far down that road before I took those college courses. I understood what the professors and books were trying to get across and made some of the highest grades in each class, but I didn’t swallow most of it….

You can read the rest of this message by clicking this link to Kiln of the Soul blog.

About Ed Hurst

Disabled Veteran, prophet of God's Laws, Bible History teacher, wannabe writer, volunteer computer technician, cyclist, Social Science researcher
This entry was posted in eldercraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kiln blog: Prophetic Economics 01

  1. I certainly don’t think that economics alone is capable of solving all of humanity’s problems; no single subject is capable of such a huge task. Every subject contributes to a small part of the solution.

    Anyway, please could you check out my new blog (https://everydayeconomix.wordpress.com) – your feedback will mean a lot to me.

    Thanks and have a great day,

    Guntash

    Like

  2. Ed Hurst says:

    I might be willing to comment as long as you understand the radical position I take on things in general, Guntash. I’m hoping you read the full blog post I linked above so that you aren’t shocked by my approach.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I understand. Maybe it’s a failure of my imagination or maybe I’m just not used to seeing such a radical viewpoint! But nevertheless, I enjoyed reading your unique perspective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

