Photography: Just a Hill

westelmcreekvalley01It rained last night. It wasn’t heavy rain everywhere, but enough to make today’s destination a little muddy. I rode out to the north end of Draper Lake. Just off the intersection where the bike trail runs into Draper Lake Drive, to the SE there is a huge open prairie visible on satellite mapping services. In actual fact, it’s pretty rough, gouged up area with hip-high grass and a some shrubbery not easily distinguished via satellite view. westelmcreekvalley02It was also very muddy underneath the tall grass. I had to give my bike a bath when I got home, and cleaned off my shoes.

westelmcreekvalley03But it wasn’t a wasted trip. I spent a little time on my favorite grassy hilltop in the space between where West Draper Lake Drive diverges from Midwest Boulevard, leaving the latter to run straight south with a gravel surface. It’s not much of a climb, but it’s fairly broad and always very quiet. From this hilltop I can look across the upper West Elm Creek Valley where the far banks climb steeply. So I caught three images on a high magnification and rested the camera on my bike seat. The sky was still just a tad overcast. It was a beautiful peaceful moment. As usual, click on the images to see them full size.

About Ed Hurst

Disabled Veteran, prophet of God's Laws, Bible History teacher, wannabe writer, volunteer computer technician, cyclist, Social Science researcher
This entry was posted in photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

