Kiln blog: The Ultimate Healing Miracle

I’m an introvert. This short list covers it well enough in my case. For example, I can preach to a huge audience and get them to listen; people tell me I have energy and charisma in the pulpit. But I’m not much good for awhile after the message is delivered. Chitchat is hard work for me, and I really hate talking on the phone. I’ll do it because I care about people, but it’s a discipline. I really don’t enjoy it unless it’s something very absorbing.

Perhaps you notice that most of those traits don’t mean anything online. If all you know about me is what you experience from my virtual persona, my introverted personality may never register with you. Still, a physical church congregation is highly unlikely to coalesce around me here because that is not how I’m wired. I’ll do what I can to help folks around me with whatever they need, but it simply isn’t in me to gather a congregation. That requires talents I don’t have. More importantly, it requires a calling I don’t have.

My calling is prophetic in effect; prophets have typically been introverts. Not every one of them, not all the time, but it’s a trend you can spot in how they operate in their social context. There were moments in Jesus’ life when He seemed introverted, though it’s not consistent. A part of me would rather be gregarious and involved, but I’d get nothing done that matters to me. I tend to believe it’s a symptom, not a fundamental cause in itself. I’m not tormented by introversion; I don’t pray for “healing” from that. I’ve been tormented and healed from far worse things, and I’m praying others are healed, too.

You can read the rest by clicking this link to Kiln of the Soul.

About Ed Hurst

Disabled Veteran, prophet of God's Laws, Bible History teacher, wannabe writer, volunteer computer technician, cyclist, Social Science researcher
This entry was posted in eldercraft and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

