Kiln blog: Not the Same Anymore

I was a big fan. Bryan Duncan nailed it once during a phone interview. He told the radio DJ that he hoped he wasn’t the same man he was two weeks ago because he felt he had a long way to go in his ministry calling. A primary symptom of spiritual growth is a sense of penitent humility, even as we feel an unlimited confidence in God’s power and mercy in our lives.

By the way, I still love Bryan’s singing voice, but a lot of his music no longer speaks to me.

So very much of what brought me here is no longer pertinent. Some of it has become quite annoying. In the past week or so searching my old music favorites, I realized that how sweet it sounds means nothing against whether it draws me up out of myself. It’s not that I have suddenly decided the musicians are no longer good enough with their song-writing, but that what they needed to say is not always what I need to hear. A few rare albums speak to me all the way through, but most of it is now just a song or two here and there.

Read the rest at Kiln of the Soul.

About Ed Hurst

Disabled Veteran, prophet of God's Laws, Bible History teacher, wannabe writer, volunteer computer technician, cyclist, Social Science researcher
This entry was posted in eldercraft and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

